Moving Forward with Prayer

Hi, I’m preparing and praying for our Prayer Concert next week, and I know that God is calling us to take it to the next level.

Perhaps you have come along to one of the previous Prayer Concerts, and you know that God has been speaking to you.  We know that prayer is the most effective thing we can do as believers, and that together prayer has a devastating effect on the enemy and a glorious effect on individuals and the church.  A church without prayer is not a church.

If you feel that you want to have the benefit of a regular prayer meeting, and know that God is stirring you to run one, I want to support you to set it up.

Why set up another prayer meeting?

This is a time where we need to step over our walls and join hands to pray.  Jesus talked about new wine needing new wineskins.  Our old prayer meetings sometimes just do not cut it.  The format, the time, the history… God wants us to do something new.  He wants to shake everything that can be shaken.  To everything there is a season.  This is a season to set up new prayer gatherings to express the new thing that God is going to do.  In Habbakuk 1:5 it says “For I am going to do something in your days that you would not believe, even if you were told.”  Don’t you want to be a part of that new thing?

I’m not sure that I can make a fresh commitment…

It is important to be realistic about commitments that we take on.  I run a fortnightly open prayer meeting, on a Fri evening.  It might be that you can run a prayer meeting once a month.  Do not aim for your prayer meeting to be longer than an hour – leave your intercessors wanting more.  If the Lord is prompting you to start one, he will enable you to stay the course.  After all, when Jesus commands us to live in faith, how can we do that unless we go a bit beyond where we think we are comfortable?  (I have also found, once I have set the prayer meeting going, that others in the group will carry it on days that I am simply unable to…)

I have never run a prayer meeting before, it seems scary…

After our next Prayer Concert, I am going to have a training evening (or more than one, if needed), to enable those in the Core Group and other experienced intercessors/prayer meeting leaders to share tips on leading a prayer meeting.  None of us know how to pray – we are all learning!  One side-effect of a prayer meeting is that it compels you to sit down and pray before the meeting in order to prepare.  We will talk about venue, and practicalities, and keeping others informed.  This website has been set up to enable easier communication on a regular basis.

So I’ll leave it there for now.  I may pop up a video shortly talking more about this.  If you think you would like to run a prayer meeting – on a time/date that will work for you and perhaps for some of your friends – then please let me know and I can support you.  Contact me on benleney@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

